How to earn your award

  1. Earn six activity or staged activity badges of your choice. They could be badges you gain outside of your normal meetings or ones you’ve achieved through your programme.
  2. Complete the nine challenge awards. These are:
    • World Challenge Award
    • Skills Challenge Award
    • Creative Challenge Award
    • Outdoors Challenge Award
    • Adventure Challenge Award
    • Expedition Challenge Award
    • Teamwork Challenge Award
    • Team Leader Challenge Award
    • Personal Challenge Award

Top tips

If you haven’t quite completed the challenges for the Chief Scout’s Gold Award, you can complete them in your first term in the Explorer Unit.

You can wear your Chief Scout’s Silver Award on your uniform until you achieve your Chief Scout’s Gold Award.



Every individual  who undertakes an activity badge should face a similar degree of challenge and as a result some requirements may need to be adapted. It is completely  acceptable to change some of the requirements of the badges to allow individuals to access the badge (for example where there are special needs, cultural issues, or religious considerations to take into account) and the requirements outlined for activity badges do allow for some flexibility in order to obtain the badge. If you would like help or advice when considering adapting the requirements of a badge please contact UK Headquarters.